Thoughtworks vs Koombea: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Thoughtworks (4.2/5) edges ahead of Koombea (3.9/5) overall. Thoughtworks is the better choice for engineering-led teams with strict code standards. Koombea is the stronger option for product teams wanting fixed-scope AI sprints. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Thoughtworks vs Koombea: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1993 | 2007 |
| HQ | Chicago, IL, USA | Barranquilla, Colombia |
| Team size | ~10,000 | 50–249 |
| Rating | 4.2 / 5 | 3.9 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Engineering practice reputation applied to AI-first delivery | Story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles |
| Pricing model | Time & materials and fixed-scope phases; rates on request | Fixed-scope AI Pods; $50–$99/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $50,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS Bedrock, Azure OpenAI, Databricks | Salesforce, HubSpot, SAP |
| Industries served | Financial services, Retail & e-commerce, Healthcare, Telecom, Public sector | SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce |
Thoughtworks vs Koombea: overview
Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks is a software consultancy founded in 1993 and headquartered in Chicago, with roughly 10,000 people in 49 offices. Apax Partners took it private in a deal valued at about $1.75 billion, announced in August 2024. The firm now describes its services as AI-first software delivery, and in March 2026 management consultancy Teneo launched an AI-focused joint venture with it. Engineering discipline is its reputation, which suits integrations that have to fit into well-tested production code.
Koombea
Koombea was founded in Barranquilla, Colombia, in 2007 and has launched more than 200 apps. Clutch puts its team at 50–249 people. The company has repositioned around AI-first products, agentic AI, and integrated systems, and sells AI Pods: a scope approved in story points and delivered in two-week cycles. It also offers ScopeGen AI, an AI-assisted scoping tool. Clutch shows a $50–$99 hourly band and a $50,000 minimum, though the company says it now quotes fixed-scope estimates.
Services and capabilities: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Capability | Thoughtworks | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| CRM / ERP integration | ✗ | ✓ |
| LLM API gateway & cost control | ✓ | ✓ |
| Document processing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Conversational AI | ✗ | ✗ |
| Agentic workflows | ✓ | ✓ |
| Fixed-price pilot | ✗ | ✗ |
| Managed services after launch | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Framework / platform | Thoughtworks | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Salesforce | N/A | ✓ |
| SAP | N/A | ✓ |
| Microsoft Dynamics 365 | N/A | ✓ |
| HubSpot | N/A | ✓ |
| Snowflake | ✓ | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| BigQuery | N/A | N/A |
| Azure OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS Bedrock | ✓ | N/A |
| Zendesk | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $50,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope project, Time & materials, Dedicated team | Fixed-scope project, Dedicated team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Dimension | Thoughtworks | Koombea |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Retail & e-commerce, Healthcare | SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Adding LLM features to a large existing codebase with test coverage, Data platform work that has to precede AI | Adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints, Connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope project | Fixed-scope project |
Thoughtworks vs Koombea: pros and cons
| Thoughtworks | |
|---|---|
| + | Testing and continuous delivery habits carry over to prompt and model changes. |
| + | The Technology Radar it publishes gives clients its view on tools before they hire. |
| + | Strong data-mesh and platform engineering background. |
| + | Global offices for multi-country work. |
| - | Owned by Apax Partners since the 2024 take-private, with cost-cutting reported since |
| - | Senior consulting rates are high for a narrow pilot |
| - | AI integration is one practice within a broad consultancy |
| Koombea | |
|---|---|
| + | Fixed-scope pods give a defined cost per cycle. |
| + | Nearshore team with U.S. time-zone overlap. |
| + | Lists CRM and ERP integrations among its AI services. |
| - | Clutch shows a $50K minimum that's at odds with its fixed-scope positioning |
| - | AI positioning is recent compared with its app-development history |
| - | No managed-service offer after launch |
Who should choose Thoughtworks?
A typical fit: adding LLM features to a large existing codebase with test coverage.
Engineering practice reputation applied to AI-first delivery. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail & e-commerce, Healthcare, Telecom, Public sector.
Who should choose Koombea?
A typical fit: adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints.
Story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles. Minimum engagement starts at $50,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in SaaS, Real estate, Healthcare, Retail & e-commerce.
Decision matrix: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want a priced pilot before committing to a rollout | Neither advertises one; ask for a scoped pilot quote |
| You need someone to run and monitor the system after launch | Neither; plan for your own team to run it |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) vs Koombea ($50,000+ (Clutch)) |
| The AI has to read and write in your CRM or ERP | Koombea |
| You need multi-step agents acting across systems | Both build agentic workflows |
| You need a large team for a multi-year program | Thoughtworks |
Use case fit: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
| Use case | Thoughtworks fit | Koombea fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adding LLM features to a large existing codebase with test coverage | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Data platform work that has to precede AI | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Adding an AI assistant to a startup's product in sprints | Limited | Strong | Koombea |
| Connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts | Limited | Strong | Koombea |
Verdict: Thoughtworks vs Koombea
Thoughtworks (4.2/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Integration Services projects. Engineering practice reputation applied to AI-first delivery.
Koombea (3.9/5) is worth a look if you need connecting a HubSpot CRM to an LLM for reply drafts. If your situation matches that, Koombea is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Thoughtworks vs Koombea FAQ
Is Thoughtworks better than Koombea?
Thoughtworks (4.2/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: testing and continuous delivery habits carry over to prompt and model changes. Koombea's strongest advantage: fixed-scope pods give a defined cost per cycle.
How do Thoughtworks and Koombea differ in pricing?
Thoughtworks's pricing: time & materials and fixed-scope phases; rates on request. Koombea's pricing: fixed-scope AI Pods; $50–$99/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $50,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Thoughtworks or Koombea?
Thoughtworks is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Thoughtworks and Koombea?
Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: engineering practice reputation applied to AI-first delivery. Koombea's primary differentiator is: story-point-scoped AI Pods in two-week cycles. They also differ in team size (~10,000 vs 50–249), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $50,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Retail & e-commerce vs SaaS, Real estate).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.